it has almost been two weeks. during those days, my mom had been busy trying to enlist us in a school. it was so close to the house, it only takes a ten second run to get there. damn close. it is called Brunswick Secondary College. i didn’t know how good it was. but it looks great from outside. the day of my first school days in Melbourne finally came…

school starts at 9. finishes at 3.  i and my sister were waiting in the principal’s office that morning. with my mom obviously. they were talking about things. lots of things. i wasn’t listening to anything. when mr. principal asked me questions, all i did was nod. the reason that i only nodded is that i still don’t speak well enough. you can say my english is good, but it sounds bad compared to how australians are talking. they have distinctive accent. it was different. sometimes i don’t catch what they were trying to say. well, it will take time. i thought…

one of the teachers took me to my first class. we were standing just outside the classroom. she called the teacher who was in charge, and took me inside. i stood front. everyone was looking at me. i was really nervous. she told me to introduce myself to the class.. well, okay. here it goes. i introuduced myself. name and background. that was all. i stopped. i don’t know what else to say. it was actually ‘how to say it’. my english sucks..

everyone greeted me. and i took a seat. right after sitting, i looked around the classes. it was not all australians. there were people with small pointy eyes (chinese, vietnamese, and etc). black ones(from all over Africa of course). Arabs. i’m not being racist. just describing what i saw at the first time…hhehehe… i remembered when my mom told me, that everyone comes to Australia. this country was actually a ‘favourite’ place to migrate by most people.. so no wonder, there were so many people with different backgrounds and culture over here…

most of them got acquainted with me. by the minute, i knew about a couple of them. the guy beside me was Tang. he was vietnamese. there were others like Steve, Nathan, Andrea, Steffany, and other dudes whom i forget..hhahaha.. sorry.

the class was quiet fine. teacher was talking. i think we were learning philosophy. we were listening. i was trying to listen. i was still not familiar with Australian english. later on, the class ends. we had to go utside and move to the next class. what? it’s different from Padang. students had to move to their next class. in padang, we stayed the whole day in the classroom. teachers change. but here, we had to take a walk to our next class.. hhahaha.. quite funny, i thought the first time…

everyone went to a ‘locker’. you put things in your locker. we are not supposed to take bags to classes. since i don’t have, one of the guy lend me his. i took a book and some pen, as i was looking at my timetable.

ESL. English as a Second Language. the class was so deserted. maybe less than 10 people. i found out later, what ‘as a second language’ meant. everyone had bad english. bad. i actually thought mine’s better. there were chinese, arabs, blacks and other kinds. these people, just like me, are new to australia. they don’t talk much. when they talk, you don’t understand a thing…well, it wasn’t that bad, just trying to make it look dramatical..hhahaha….

finally school ends. bells were ringing. everyone ran to their lockers. get bags. shoving books in. and leaving. i did too. the school felt crowded. i was looking at a hell lot of people. and feeling wonderful at my new school.

it felt great..